The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the success of online programs at Omni University, the president of Humana University is planning to begin online degree programs as well. In his opinion, this campaign will both help to attract new students and reduce the deficit of the university budget. Although, there are not strong arguments which would show that this plan will play off.

Since Humana University has faced budget problems while spending more money on the supplement of its buildings, the initiation of online courses are supposed to shorten the deficit. Although, it stays unclear how exactly this step will help to solve this problem. Perhaps, most of the university’s money is spent on other needs rather than on maintaining its buildings. For example, there might be excess people in the stuff. In this way, the more helpful measures will be the reduction of workers. Moreover, the point about how much money the university should spend on launching online programs can undermine the idea that online courses will save university’s money. Thus, to start these courses the university needs to have computers, the good Internet access as well as enough IT stuff to avoid technical problems. That is why there is a high possibility that the university to find the great amount of money.

One of the key ideas why the Humana University tends to start online degree programs is because this way it wants to attract more students. Since the number of students applying for this university is decreased for several years, the university looking at the experience of Omni University assumes that online programs will work too. Although there are some arguments to provide, which can disrupt this position. For example, the number of students will not increase, because students are interested in neither campus programs nor online ones. Maybe Humana University is low-ranked and provides the low quality of education, that students prefer applying for other universities. That is why launching online programs will not turn this situation around.

Even if Humana University is good at providing education, their aim to promote such online programs as Omni does looks irrelevant. The main reason is that, perhaps, Omni University provides law courses which this university is famous for. This educational establishment might be specialized in this. On the other hand, Humana University may be incompetent in law programs. There is no point to adapt Omni’s programs, because it will not lead to success as well, because between these two online programs students will choose Omni’s courses over Humana’s ones.

To sum up, based on the provided arguments in this essay, there is no point is assuming that initiating online courses will help to reduce the budget deficit and attract new students.