Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement above about the financial investments to big cities with the purpose of cultural retention is supported by the idea that only major cities carry cultural traditions. Based on the provided information, I completely disagree since the reasonable counterarguments can be found to oppose this claim.

The main proclaimed idea is to subsidize major cities to thrive culturally, although the point can be promulgate about whether money is a main tool which will contribute this prosperity. Perhaps, many other factors are more important then the financial support. So to preserve cultural traditions, the governments need to support with social programs while the main source of the financial aid will be non-government organizations which will find their own reasons to invest such programs.

Major cities can be characterized by the high density of people, and now with the globalization and open borders, the tendency of cultural diversity because of immigration processes is high in big cities. In the context of cultural traditions, these spots are good from the point of creating new ones on the joint of mixing up. Otherwise, the preservation of some cultural features presents a tough affair. For example, taking into account such multinational countries as Russia, the USA as a particular example, one can see that the most of original cultural traditions have vanished. There are still some places; the most of them are in the countryside, where traditions of people living thousands years ago are still preserved.

The idea of the financial support of major cities will not help to generate new traditions and save ones with their roots to ancestors, because these places are not primarily spots of this. The main reason why people move to big cities is building a strong career, thus they are focused mostly on this by forgetting and destroying their roots with the families. The opposite situation can be seen in the countryside, because people stay there because of the calmness of life, the strong relations with families and people around. Where do people know about each other more: either in mega policies or in villages? Since people live in small community in the countryside, they are more close to each other, and in particular parents to their kids. Thus, these are parents and grandparents those people who transport traditions to new generations, in the countryside one can see more contemporary presenting cultural traditions than in major cities.

To sum up, I do not agree with this statement for the main reasons as the financial aid is not the main instrument to help to preserve and generate traditions, moreover, main cities are not those places where cultural traditions are presented, because of the multinational population there and their estrangement from their roots.