The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the success of online programs at Omni University, the president of Humana University is planning to begin online degree programs as well. In his opinion, this service will both help to attract new students and lessen the university budget’s shortage. In fact, the memorandum does not provide powerful reasons to be certain about this.

Since Humana University has faced budget struggles while spending more money on maintaining its buildings, the initiation of online courses is supposed to reduce the deficit. Even though, it is hazy how exactly the beginning of online programs will influence this problem in a beneficial way. For instance, to start these courses the university needs to have modern computers, the good Internet access as well as enough IT staff to avoid technical problems. If the university does not have these human and technical resources currently, it has to spend the great amount of money before promoting online programs.

Although, some arguments such as unclear point on the issue of budget deficit can weaken this conclusion. For example, the number of students will not increase, because students are interested in neither campus nor online programs of this university. Maybe Humana University is low-ranked and provides the low quality of education; therefore, students prefer applying for other universities. That is why launching online programs will not turn this situation around.

On top of that, the statistics that the president relied upon that indicated a 50% rise in enrolment of new students may fail to live up to its reality. It is important to make sure we have the correct data before proposed solution may be warranted. blah-blah-blah.

Even if Humana University is famous for its good education; the idea of promoting such online programs as Omni does looks irrelevant. The main reason is that, perhaps, Omni University provides law courses which this university is famous for. On the other hand, Humana University may be incompetent in law programs. There is no point to adapt Omni’s programs, because it will not lead to success as well, because between these two online programs students will choose Omni’s courses over Humana’s ones.

To sum up, based on the provided arguments in this essay, there is no point is assuming that initiating online courses will help to reduce the budget deficit and attract new students.