The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Based on a comparison between Humana University and Omni University, the author suggests Humana University to promote online degree programs in order to increase its total enrollment and solve budget problems. The argument seems to be logical at first glance. However as more light is shed on the issue, and more detailed fact is concerned, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from many grave fallacies in its assumptions as well as commits a false analogy. In order to make this argument more logical and cogent, many questions need to be answered before jumping to conclusion.

First of all, for the total enrollment in Omni University, including both online degree and traditional degree, is it increasing or decreasing this year? A increase in the number of students enrolled in online degree does not necessarily mean the total enrollment increases. It is possible that the number of students who do not enrolled in online course decreased because they shifted to online course, and the total enrollment is not changed at all. It is also possible that as lots of resources are put onto online courses, the course quality of traditional degree is damaged, and the number of students enrolled greatly reduced, resulting in a decrease of total enrollment.

Moreover, the author need to further examine the reason behind expenditure decrease in Omni University, collect evidence to answer the question whether the decrease is actually because of online course. For example, does the university adopted a new energy saving methodology or technology that the energy expenses greatly dropped and therefore reduces the total expenses? Is it possible that the university has already finished a major construction work previously, and no more maintenance work is required this year? Without ruling all these possible explanation of the decrease in expenditure, the author cannot prove the assumption is logical or reliable.

What is more, instead of jumping to the conclusion that Hanna University failed to increase in enrollment because of lack of online course, the author needs to answer the question whether other factors are considered. For example, is it because the university fails to make any progress in terms of course quality? Or is it possible that many famous professors left the university in the past year, resulting in a reputation damage?

Even if we assume that the total enrollment of Omni University did increase, with total expenditure decrease, and both because of the online degree, the author still need to answer the questions that is online course feasible or applicable to Hanna University. Is Omni and Hanna University is similar in nature? It is possible that Omni University is strong in theory analysis, while Hanna University courses have a strong focus on experiments and hands-on practices, which is not feasible through online courses? Or is it possible that Hanna University is lack of the information technology infrastructure, therefore, it will require a significant investment for the IT infrastructure in order to support online courses? In that case, it will cause a raise in total expenditure instead of decreases.

If we further assume that Omni and Hanna University is indeed similar in nature, and online courses is applicable for Hanna University, the author still needs to answer the question whether online course will be popular and attract more students for Hanna University. For example, students who attend Hanna University maybe mostly come from families in poverty and do not have a quiet room for studying, nor do they have access to internet. Or maybe Omni University is located in remote areas, with poor transportation in that area, therefore making online courses a good choice, while Hanna University is located in major cities, and the convenience of online courses is not such an advantage?

To sum up, without answering above questions, the author failed to rule out other possible factors for Omni University’s success, and made a false analogy between Omni University and Hanna University, resulting in a unreliable argument.