The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager: “Tobor

Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about

15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers

receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the

company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule

confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by

employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over

the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program.

These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

Write a response in which you examine the argument’s unstated assumptions, making sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument addressed a recommendation in order to reduce the number of sick days taken by employees of Diord Corp, a previously applied successful strategy applied by Tobor needed to be followed. This recommendation is based on several assumption as it would be illustrated in the following paragraphes.

For instance, Diord Corp human resource manager assumed that both of the orgainsations' employees have the same reasons to take sick days. Perhaps, the two organisations have different kind of daily works, which implies that the employees would experiences different illness reasons. Then, the applied strategies of either of the two organisation can not be applied on the other organisation as it is not predicted to experience the same results. Therefor, the author had to clarify reasonabily accepted reasons that shaped his/her assumption.

Foremore, Diord Corp human resource manager assumed that both of the two organisation works nature are congurent. Whereas, it is extrapolated from the argument that it is expected that the modification of Tobor insurance strategy would guarantee declination of the Diord Corp's employees sick days. Maybe both of Tobor and Diord Corp employees are experiencing different illness cases as well as different nature of daily works.

Moreover, it would be inferred from the argumnet that Diord Corp human resource manager assumes the investigation 15 percent of employees illness days of Tobor is corresponding to a higher percentage of mentall illness sick days of Diord Corp. Then, it is protrayed that the improvemnt of insurance of mental illneess sick days would significantly decline the overall number of sick days needed by Diord Corp employees.

In addition, it is assumped through the argument that on site psychologist would bolster the reduction annual sick days needed by the Diord Corp employees. Perhaps nother significant less costly strategy could be adopted. Then, the author had to provide clear evidences to support this assumption.

These previously demonstarted assumptions are a sample of set of assumption that is adopted by Diord Corp human resource manager in order to guarantee a reduction of employees annual sick days.