The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The mayor of Hopewell points out that building a golf course and resort hotel is the best way to escalate Hopewell’s economy and generate extra tax revenues. To buttress his recommendation, he cites the experience of the nearby town where a new golf course and resort hotel was built. The argument seems to be plausible at first glance, but it reveals several logical flaws, as they are based on some precarious assumptions.

To begin with, the mayor made an assumption that the increasing tourism in Ocean View in the past two years was solely attribute to the newly built golf course and resort hotel. However, it is entirely possible that the town has imposed other government policies to spur the flourish of tourism, such as reconstructing public attractions, improving sanitary conditions of the restaurants and the streets, etc. Without detailed investigation regarding the government policies enacted in the past two years, the assumption that the new golf course and resort hotel in Ocean View has stimulated the tourism industry can not be justified.

Secondly, the mayor tries to correlate a raise in tax revenues in Ocean View with the construction of a golf course and resort hotel. The mayor indicates that Ocean View’s tax revenues have boosted 30 percent in the past two years. However, 30 percent might seem to be a large increase, but it is entirely possible that the original tax revenues are very low and a 30 percent increase does not make any difference to the overall figure. Thus, unless the mayor presents detailed information regarding the tax revenues two years ago, his attempt to relate tax revenues’ increase with the new golf course and hotel is unreasonable.

Finally, the mayor also premises the situation of the two towns are similar in all respects and the policy which was executed in Ocean View can succeed in Hopewell as well. However, perhaps Hopewell is too small to build a large golf course and resort hotel, therefore, the recommendation to build such facilities is certainly impossible. Also, the construction of such facilities requires plenty of funds which may pose a great challenge to Hopewell’s financial budget. Thus, the assumption that Hopewell can copy the success in Ocean View is unwarranted.

In sum, the assumptions made by the mayor certainly undermine the credibility of the recommendation, which is to build a golf course and hotel, to boost the economy in Hopewell. To bolster his recommendation, more detailed investigations and information, such as government policies imposed in Ocean View in the past two years, tax revenues conditions, etc, should be provided.