The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer assumes that Monarch Books should open a café to attract new customer and discontinue children’s book section due to decline in population of children below ten. However, there is no evidence to support writer’s claim.

Firstly, the writer assumes that because Monarch has been in business at that location for nearly twenty years so opening a café will bring new customers. But in depth analysis of the statement there is flaw in writer’s assumption because there might be a café in that locality and the people in that locality would prefer going there instead of Monarch’s cafe.

Secondly, the writer states that the children’s book section should be discontinued and space must be made for café because children’s book section will be unpopular because there is significant decline is population of children below ten. This statement would have been strengthened if writer would provide evidence related to the decline in population of children in nearby locality. There might be possibility that there is increase in population of children under ten in nearby locality and steep decline in population nation-wide.

Finally, the writer states that by opening a café, Monarch Books can compete with Regal Books who has recently opened a café. But writer fails to provide any evidence that by opening a cafe Regal Books has achieved success to attract more customers. Only if the writer produces any evidence that by opening a café in Monarch Books will boost it sales and attract new customer then it is viable for Monarch books to open café.

In conclusion, from given information the writer’s evidence lends little credible support to his claim. Had the writer given any evidence about any other book store which had opened a café and was capable to attract customers, then it would bolster the writer’s claims of opening a café.