The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument mentioned, the author recommended that monarch store is likely to attract more customers by opening a cafe in the store. In his build og the argument, the author used evidences that would at the first glance look reasonable and persuading, however, a more in-depth look at the evidences, it seems that some questions must be raised to better evaluate the veracity of the evidences and the effictiveness of his recomendation.

first, the author mentioned that the book store has a large customer base because of its wide range variety of books it has. also, he suggested that the proposed cafe would be given space using the children's books section. In this context, the board of directors did not consider that this truncating of the children's section will have a negative effect on this variety of books mentioned. also, the author tried to justify that by mentioning the recent national census that indicated a decline in the percentage of the population under ten years. however, a decline in the percentage of the population of those people do not by necessity mean that there is a decrease in their numbers, and in such a study, the number is more important than the percentage compared to the whole country.

Moreover, while the board of directors seem to only be concerned with that the customers of the cafe being in the store itself will probably work as an incentive to them to wander between the books and purchase some, they didn't consider the way in which the original customers of the store will look, and whether or not this opening of the cafe will make the place more crowded and noisy, which are characteristics of a place that is likely to be disliked by readers, as the majority of the readers are always known for the quiet environments they usually live in.

Finally, the author pointed to regal books, which is another store that opened its own cafe recently. Saying that opening a cafe would help monarch store to be more capable of competing with regal books, the author did not mention the effects opening a cafe had on regan books. such a detail would be very meaningful to better assess the suggestion, that is, this comparison would provide us details on how such a recommendation is dealt with in a similar place.

In a conclusion, the author bolstered his recommendation using evidences that are questionable in terms of their veracity and reliability, and more questions should be answered to make the argument more plausible. For example, a more in-depth study of the children's section sells and comparison with regan books store would certainly make the recommendations more substantiated.