The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author makes an argument in favor of establishing a in-door cafe' in replacing the children section in the Monarch Books. Stated in this way, the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and providing weak examples. To bolster their points, the author provides a census that indicates a significance decrease in the population of children in the future. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides minimal credibility towards the author's claims.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Book and Bean would be a success and stands as a major opposition to the Monarch books. There is no evidence that stated that the innovation introduced by the Book and Bean would be met with success and acceptance from the people of Collegeville. Readers prefer to keep books far away from edibles in order to protect the book from soling. Many prefer the silence and a friendly atmosphere to read rather than the chatter and loud atmosphere a coffee shop provides. Adding to this, there is a high chance of coffee being spilled on the books in the Book and Bean and ruining the said books. This might deliver a huge loss in the form of replacing these books. Hence, the argument would be much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the Book and Bean is met with huge profits and increase in customers than the Monarch books or that the Book and Bean has installed many new features that guarantee the attention and appreciation of its customers.

Additionally, the author also claims that the national census data indicates a huge decrease in the population of children. Even if this presented data is assumed to be true, it does not describe how it is applicable to the Collegevile. To illustrate, imagine that the number of children in a state A is 100 and the number of children in state B is 1000. The average of these states is 550. This number does not imply that both these states posses 550 children but just represents an average. Similarly, the census provided on national scale cannot guarantee the decrease in population in the Collegevile. If the argument had provided evidence that these national census is applicable to Collegeville explicitly then it would have been more convincing to the reader.

Furthermore, the author failed to answer many questions. Is the reason for popularity for Monarch books are friendly atmosphere and wide range of books and not any other factors? Is the establishment of Book and Bean confirmed or is it just a speculation? Will replacing the children section in Monarch Books make them more profitable or deem them as "copy cats" as they are clearly copying the ideas from their rivals? In the last case there is even a possibility that the Book and Beans can pursue legal means to stop the methods adopted by Monarch books for better sales and profits. Without answering these questions, the reader is left wondering whether these claims are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidences.

In conclusion, the author's statements remain unpersuasive as they stand. The author must provide better analysis or detailed data regarding the need for modifications in the Monarch Books. Finally, to make a better assessment of the author's argument, they should provide more information answering the above raised questions or supporting the assumptions their argument is based on.