The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This personal director concludes that in order to increase the productivity of the company they should obligatory made every employee pass the Easy Read (ER) course. The author bases its conclusion on a graduate being able to read a report enormously fast and another graduate which has been promoted in short time. This argument suffers from several reasoning flaws, which together render the recommendation to be unconvincing.

First, the author cites the fact that one graduate have been promoted after a year from an assistant to vice president. However, any number of other facts might explain this event. For instance, perhaps the employee might have been sharp and assiduous, which in my opinion is more effective than fast reading. Without considering and ruling out alternative reasons, the conclusion that the fast reading is the only key to the employee's promotion is unjustified.

Next, the author asserts that a student was able to complete a 500 pages report in just two hours. My common senses tell me that it is impossible to do so. Even if the graduate did, he would not know the context and detail of the report. In fact the author points the premise that reading speed and amount of information is in direct relation. Nevertheless, you might have read more but in grasping an idea another important factor is depth of the subject which you understand.

Finally, it is has been claimed that this obligatory course would definitely improve productivity. This evidence would lend support to the argument only if we are informed those companies using this course are similar to the Acme Publishing Company (APC) in different respects. It is entirely possible that the employee of APC are older than other companies. Also, perhaps the employee of those companies might have been selected in a compatitive procedure and thereby more intelligent and sharp. Lacking evidence, this evidence cannot convince me that the more productivity would be resulted.

In a nutshell, the argument is an unpersuasive one that relies on a serise of unproven assumptions—about other reasons for the specific promotion, the premise that reading fast and understanding are proportional and weak similarity between new generations and old generations. To strengthen the argument, the author should provide better examples of those who have been effected and also clear evidence that the ACP is typical, in different aspects, to other companies which have employed the course for their employees.