Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

The speaker alleges that Institution's first priority should be encouraging students toward the careers in which jobs are abundant. I find this allegation to be specious. It wrongly suggests that more trending jobs should be replete always. To the contrary, provided that time changes the trends and given every individual student’s talent might not converge to the trended careers I believe the conclusion is unjustified.

To begin with, time changes the need and therefore that brings need to new occupations. For example in Canada, 50 years ago the study of Oil and relevant branches were most demanding. Nevertheless, soon they found out that the sources of Fusel fuels are low. In these circumstances, other fields of profession—such as Computer Science and Electrical Engineering— replaced the former. In short, looking at the history, it is not wise to plan our future careers based on today’s most demanding one.

Furthermore, any individual student has born with individual behavior, family and talent and, in turn, we cannot cluster students to limited jobs like the way ants divide into soldiers and workers. Beside the liberty of every individual, it is worth to note that we can say a student which chooses its own career by his/her enthusiasm, in future, may find new jobs, new ideas and as a result, we will see that different jobs are in balance.

Finally, it might be tempting to imply from the speaker’s allegation that by guiding new workers to most demanding jobs, we are improving our society in that field and therefore is of high value. However, if it is true a job is a trend then it is also true that the job is replete. Perhaps a high ratio of students voluntarily would choose jobs with higher salaries and most trending, thereby, there is no point in altering students’ future to these occupations.

In sum, although improving society in limited jobs seems justified, by no force students will choose those jobs and we should not undermine the students’ individual capability. In final analysis, to reach a developing society we should let the future generation steer the trend.