The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The proposer makes a suggestion that all employees in Acme company should take the Easy Reading Speed-Reading (ERSR) Courses basing on the evidence that the feedback from two previous course takers as well as some employers of graduates were quite good. However, more evidence is needed to evaluate the soundness of this suggestion.

To begin with, the evidence is lack regarding the reliability of these feedbacks. Firstly, the proposer cited the fact that many companies stated that they have benefited from the course. However, there is no evidence that what was the feedback from other companies, and essential, how much proportion of companies think the course is worthy. If it turns out that the so-called many company just represent a minority of all the companies that have sent their employees to the course, then it is not wise to the Acme company to take it. Secondly, the proposer used the progress made by two individual testimonials to illustrate the effectiveness of the course. Again, a similar problem occur that these two people might not be representative for all the graduates. Moreover, it is cited that one of these two graduates made it to read 500-page report in only two hours.

This however, does not tell us about the progress he/she made through taking the course, as no evidence was given about his/her initial reading speed. As for the other one who received a promotion during taking the course, the proposer fails to provide evidence that the promotion was associated with taking the course at all. In this case, we do not know how much benefit the graduate has gained from taking the course. Therefore, the proposal that the Acme should have their employees take the course is not well-justified.

Another backing point the proposer used to buttress his advice was the assumption that the faster the reading speed, the more information one can absorb in a single day. This assumption, however, does not necessarily hold true, before any sound scientific evidence is provided. It is possible that there is a limit of how much information can be stored in human’s brain in a single day, in which case the correctness of the assumption would be undermined, thus render the proposal invalid.

Granted that the ERSR course does have a positive effect for employees’ productivity, we need the proof that all the employees in the Acme Company would benefit from taking it. Common sense tells me there are usually different department and different positions in a company, some of whom may be in charge of the logistics. In other words, perhaps the benefit that the course provide is only valuable to those whose work involves reading documents, but not others who rarely need reading skills in their workplace. For that matter, maybe not everyone should attend the course, unless the proposer could show us the evidence of how everyone could benefit from it.

In sum, the proposer need to provide more evidence before the suggestion is justified.