The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read costs only $500 per employee - a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

In the passage, the writer gives a recommendation to require all the employees of acme Publishing company to participate in the easy read course, because of a good test results from other companies and arresting benefits in contrast to the cost. however, whether or not the recommendation is reasonable and advisable requires further information and some key questions calls for attention.

To begin with, witnessing some cases indicated in the passage suggests some graduate of the course acquire greatly improved productivity, however, there are some questions about the validation of the evidence. For instance, what is the ratio of the course participants who turn out to have such a improved reading ability. if the two cases mentioned in the passages are the only evidence, then we would be dubious about the true effectiveness of the course. otherwise, with a high ratio can the course prove its positive influence.

In addition, while easy read can give some benefits to acme company, including seminars and lifelong subscription, it is still dubious about the value of this seeming benefit before we can answer the question whether this benefit can be assured. it is not rare that some benefits promised by some companies turn out to lost its validity because of their breakdown. So whether or not the company would run well in the future to come should be given more attention. otherwise, the promise of lifelong service means nothing.

Even if the answer to the questions above can support the recommendation, we still cannot determine whether or not it is reasonable to require all of the employees to take the course. that is because the reading capability of different employee vary. For those qualified readers, it is a waste of time and money to take the course.

To sum up, the recommendation should be still under discussion despite of some positive evidence.