The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As an editorial, the author recommended that super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reach the public through advertising. The author makes the conclusion on the basis of the fact that the problem does not lie with the quality of the movies but with the public's lack of awareness. This argument has several unsupported assumptions, most notably that the content of the movies is very good. This argument has some merits, but it is flawed in two respects.

Most conspicuously, the author argues that the content of the movies is very good. It is entirely possible, however, it is also possible that the content of the movies is B grade i.e. there are more sexual content rather than logical content. Moreover, it is also possible that the content is not related to domestic society. Thus, in order to make the argument more convincing, the author should provide more details about the content which strengthen the argument.

Furthermore, the author argues that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers is increased. One cannot deny that alternative is possible that such movie reviewers may have a pecuniary relationship with super screen Movie production company. Hence, the author should provide details about the movie reviewers and also provide the name of the channel, if any.

Finally, the author argues that the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness. Howbeit, it is possible that the public is aware of the movies and their content. Moreover, it also possible that Most of the viewers are children and less than 18 years age and the content is 18+ age. So the author should provide the details regarding the targeting audience.

In conclusion, the argument has supported several critical assumptions. Not does the author assumes that the content of the movies is very good, the percentage of positive reviewers by movie reviewers is increased but also presupposes that the pubic has a lack of awareness about the movies. In order to make the argument richer, the author should clear all the assumptions and demonstrate accordingly.