The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues here that Super Screen Movie Production Company should devote more money to advertising in order to make viewers aware of the quality of the movies availiable. However, this conclusion is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions, which distort the view of the situation. Therefore, the argument is weak and unconvincing.

First of all, the author promplty assumes that the economic capability does not influence people's choices. This is a completely unsubstantiated assumption. For example, people may be viewing less movies this year because of the existence of an economic crisis, which can make people redefine their priorities. There may exist a similar trend with all other movies produced by other companies. The author would have been much more persuasive if clearly stated that there are any significant changes in economy in relation to the previous years.

The author also implies there are any changes in the number of filmes produced by the company, which is again a weak and unsupported assumption. If this year people are viewing less Super Screen-produced movies, it can be because the company is producing less films. Therefore, there may exist a equal or greater number of people viewing each movie but as there may exist less movies to watch, the total number of people assisting to Super Screen-produced movies may decrease. If the author had provided evidence that the number of movies produced this year was not inferior to the number of movies produced in the previous years, the argument would have much more presuasive.

Finaly, the author claims less people have seen the movies but the reader does not know how exactly varied the number of people who assisted to Super Screen-produced movies. For instance, if during the last year 200 people watched Super Screen-produces movies and this year only 199 people watched the movies produced by this company, it is not possible to consider it is a significant change. Unless the author can show the number of filmes produced this year changed considerably in relation to the previous years, the reader is left with the impression the claims made by the author are merely speculative.

In conclusion, the author makes a number of unsupported assumptions which undermine the validity of the argument. Unless these assumptions are proven correct, the argument falls apart and the advertising director could very well make a major mistake devoting more money to advertising.