The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that the reason why fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies while the percentage of positive reviews increased is that the public is unaware of the presence of high-quality movies. Therefore, the advertising director of Movie Production Company makes a conclusion that the company should spend a greater part of its budget on the advertisement. The argument looks quite logical at first glance; however, a closer examination reveals that the writer relies on several unsupported assumptions and suggests a groundless cause-effect reasoning, which makes his argumentation unconvincing.

To begin with, the author mentions that during the past year a fewer number of people visited Super Screed-produced movies than in any other year. However, the director fails to present any statistics or survey in support of his statement. What if the population of the city decreased because many young people left for bigger cities? What if the number of the company's movies became fewer than it had been before? These questions undermine the author's statement because he could not bolster his position with convincing data such as official estimates or surveys. If the author had provided necessary information such as mentioned above, the director's reasoning would have been more grounded.

Secondly, the author claims that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about Super Screen movies increased during the last year. Undoubtedly, such an assumption may be reasonable; however, in that passage, it is not because the author failed to provide any information on these reviewers. The percentage may have increased because of changed number of experts. Say, half of them have not taken part this year, and accurate this half had valued the company's films as poor-quality films. In that case, the percentage would increase. We can also consider a scenario when some reviewers withheld to make a review. Such a situation may also lead to another percentage of positive reviews. This flaw could have been avoided if the author provided readers with relevant information on the reviewers, on the number of them and on the results of last years.

Finally, the author assumes that spending a greater share of company's budget on the advertisement will lead to increase in public that attend the company's movies. Of course, the advertisement may help the company to bring new customers and let people know about Super Screen-produced movies. However, the author has never mentioned what kind of advertising the company used before. Maybe, the firm only advertised its films through newspapers that are unpopular among the town's population. In that case, spending a greater amount of money on advertising will not result in any increase of the customers. If the author had mentioned in which way the company promoted its films, his reasoning could have become more convincing.

To sum up, the advertising director fails to mention some important aspects, which makes his argument weak and unconvincing. If the author had provided more relevant information such as statistics, surveys, ​and official documents, his argumentation would have been way more reasonable and flawless.