The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The developers of jazz music club in Monroe wrote in their application that jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise, as typical jazz fan spends close to $1000 per year on jazz entertainment and it is extremely popular in Monroe. However, this application contains some critical flaws.

First, the developer had written that, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe because over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. However, it is not proved that the people who attended, are Monroe residents. The attendees might be from another city or from another country as well as it is the annual summer festival. There is no significant evidence that the people attended the festival are from Monroe only or majority, is from Monroe.

Second, the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly’ which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. This is not sufficient to avow jazz music as Monroe’s popular music because there is dearth of statistical data. It might happen that most of its listeners are children or any other young music enthusiast; and majority of population must be listening to some other program. So, statistical data is required to prove that jazz music is popular in Monroe.

Third, the application talks about the nationwide study which indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, however, it failed to introduce the numbers. Study revealed the spending of jazz fan, but it might be the case that only 10 of 1000 people are spending money on jazz entertainment. Moreover, the jazz entertainment might be costlier that only few able to afford it. So, again statistical data is required, for how many actually spends for jazz entertainment.

In conclusion, the application has some critical flaws which can be mitigated by providing sufficient statistical data. All the assumptions regarding popularity of jazz music are insignificant to determine the popularity of Jazz music in Monroe