According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The report in Groveton's editorial states about the honor code system- used to reduce the number of students cheating- and in conclusion it is said that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes , which is too extent; as it contains several critical flaws regarding the honor code system applicability.

Firstly, it is said that honor code systems calls for students to agree not to cheat in the academic endeavors.But, it might happen that only few students agree to not to cheat ,while, others might betray after agreeing.In this case it is not reliable to judge the efficacy of honor code system based on agreement of students for not cheating.Also,It might be the case that faculties vehemently makes students to agree ;and consequencely students might cheat to take revenge by violating agreement.So, it is unreliable to say about honor code's efficacy.

Secondly, under honor code system,students have to notify their faculty member if they suspect any other student cheating.By doing this faculty members think students will 100% loyal to them;but it is wrong because,not all students will be loyal and some might refute to notify, if a student is suspected cheating.for example, if a student sitting beside his best friend,and he suspect that his friend is cheating ,then, he might not report it to the faculty because he is his best friend.In this way ,it is not appropiate to say that honor code is reliable.

Third, according to teachers report , in the first year of honor code system only 21 cases of cheating were reported which was 30 before honor code system; and after 5 years later it reported only 14 cases of cheating.Now, after commendment of honor code system the drop in cases was not significant ,as it reduces around 16 cases in 6 years which is too subtle to say that honor code system is efficient.Reduction of numbers may be the result of easy question papers , students not cheating due to the ease of paper;students not reporting the cheating cases to the faculty and many more might be the reasons for reduction in numbers.So, the report suggests that honor code system might not be effective than it is expected to.

In conclusion, honor code system might have some flaws and it is not the solely responsible for reducing the number of cheating.And the claim regarding all universities adopting the honor code system is too extent, because it is not sure that efficacy of it, is reliable to other colleges and universities as well.In spite, Groveton should try to bring in an alternative to it ,to reduce the significant number of cheating cases.