Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The author conclude that specie’s extinction in Kaliko Islands is caused by environmental factors, the author came to the conclusion because of the evidence provided by archaeologists that claimed that places containing bones of large mammals was not discovered. While this may be true, the author stated three unwarranted assumptions that can hinder the credibility of the author’s assertions.

First of all, the author presumes that humans does not contribute to the extinctions of the large mammal species in Kaliko Islands. However, it is possible that humans have facilitated the extinctions of this large mammal species by the human factors and activities, this activities might not be documented or the author did not get compelling evidence before mapping out a conclusion. In addition, the large mammal species might have been allergic to the humans during that time. If either of this scenario prove to be true, It would imply that the author argument that human does contribute to large mammal extinctions in Kaliko Islands does not hold water.

Moreover, the author contended that there is no areas with bones of large mammals. Perhaps, it is possible that the bones of large mammals specie in Kaliko Island is yet to be found as at the time of the author’s report. In addition, the bones of this large mammals might not be the type of bone that can stay for years without get decay, It is possible that bones might have been decayed when the archaeologist research on the bones of this large mammals. If either of this premise prove to be true, it would hinder the persuasiveness of the author assertions.

Finally, the author assumes that climate or environmental factors must have been the reason for the extinction of large mammal species in Kaliko Island. However, there are other factors that could have caused the extinction of this mammals, the species might have been hunted by humans, and the species might have been wiped out by other large species. Moreover, the species might have decided to relocate from the Kaliko Islands to other Islands. If either evidence is true, the assertions provided by the author requires to be revisited.

In conclusion, although the evidence provided by the author might prove to be true, In order for the author to have a tenable or more grounded arguments, the author needs to revisit the three unstated assumptions.