The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument. The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

In the letter to the editor, the author conclude that the decrease in amphibians has been caused by different reasons which include trout. He based this conclusion on the census conducted in 1975 and observation from the 2002. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that could undermine the persuasiveness of the author’s argument.

First of all, the author assumes that a number of amphibians species in Xanadu National Park is an indicative measure of species population. It is possible that the number of species observed in 2002 might not mirror the demeanor of the species in Xanadu National Park. In addition, the method to which the author conducted the species is scientific and it might not mirror the real life situation of the amphibian species in that area. If either of the scenario proves true, it implies that the authors assumption that the method employed in conduction the observation and consensus does not hold water.

Moreover, the author presumes that the number of amphibian species in the Xanudu National Park has been consistently decreasing and it caused by different reasons which include trout. Perhaps, it is possible for other reasons other than trout to have been the reason for the substantial decrease in the number of the amphibian species. Furthermore, the decline in amphibian species could have been caused by human factors and some natural factors, for instance, there might be a change in weather in Xanudu National Park and this could affect the existence of the amphibian species in that region, if either of the reasons are true, it could either the persuasiveness of the author assumption as regards the trout be the reason in decline of amphibian species in 1975.

Finally, the author contended that the water and air in Xanudu Population has been polluted. It is possible that the pollution in water and air could have been caused by some factors other than trout. Perhaps, the reliability of the assertion does not really hold water mainly because of the reasons provided that trout is reason behind this pollution, In addition, global pollution of water and air might not have been caused by this species in consideration, for instance, other type of species might have implicated both the air and the water. If either instance could prove true, the author assumption as regards the pollution of water and air is not compelling enough.

To conclude, although, the author assumption might be true as regards the scientific method employed in the census conducted in 1975, for the argument to be tenable enough, the author must consider the above points important.