Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most

of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become

extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is

no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further,

archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been

discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the

humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other

environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications

are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument addressed that the reasons of large mammals extinct is environmental factors such as climate changes, and that human existance has no role in these mammals extinction. This interpretation is based on a set of assumptions.

For instance, the author assumed that humans on Kaliko island could only influence big mammals existance by hunting these big animals. Perhaps the humans did not hunt these mammals but could have been a serious competitor to these mammals on the same feeding sources that lead to mammals extinct due to lack of feeding source for example.

Furthermore, the author interprested that the up to date undiscovered bones of these big mammls on the island is a strong evidence that humans did not hunt these mammls. Maybe these mammals were not hunting by humans but died as a result of there own fights or as a result of any environmental conditions, which by the end of the day would lead to these mammals bones existance is logically expected on Kaliko island.

In addition to the author did not extrapolated from the absence of any bones of these big mammls on the Kaliko island is an evidence that the mammals were not extincted but migrated to another piece of land where a more sutiable living condition for them is experienced. Perhaps these mammals were migrating back and forth through a certain of living circulation.

Moreover, the author assumed that the environmental factors changes is the main reason that reveal the exticnt of these large mammals on Kaliko island after the humans existing on this island by 3000 year. Thus, bones of these mammals are not existing on the island.

Consequently, the author assumped that the humans existing is not a main reason of these large mammals extinctance. Whereas, the climate conditions lead to some mammals migration and leaving the island searching for a suitable climate conditions for there living.

On the other hand, the author assumed that the up to date undiscovery of these mammals bones indicates that these mammals bones would not be discovered on Kaliko island either in ear nor far future.

These previously illustrated stated and unstated assumptions are the assumption that drived the author’s recommendation about the main reasons of large mammals extinction on Kaliko island after 3000 year of humans extistance on this island’s land.