An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that there is vitamin A deficiency in Tagus,and the international development organization have engineered a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A.The author states that, the government should promote this new millet to combat vitamin A deficiency, based on the following assumptions.

The author does not mention the amount of vitamin A present in the old millet and in the new millet. If the numbers/percent of vitamin A vary significantly, then there is a definite need to change to the new millets. But the author does not mention the number/percent thus by weakening the argument.

The farmer will be given subsidies for farming the new millet, but will the subsidies be able to generate the same amount the farmer earned with the old millet, is not mentioned. The argument states that the farmers will have to pay more for the seeds of new millets, but again the prices for the seeds of old and new millet is not stated, thus weakening the argument.

The argument states that the government should promote the new millet to combat vitamin A deficiency, but the author does not state any other means to combat vitamin A deficiency. The author is assuming that there is only one way that has been developed by the international development organization to curb the vitamin A deficiency. The author is not providing other means to combat the deficiency.

The government should take all possible measures to combat the vitamin A deficiency, but should not only promote a single solution. The government should look for other solutions and then come to a conclusion as to what will be the best for the farmers and also what will be the best way to erradicate the vitamin A deficiency.