An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument about the government Of Tagus promoting the new breed of millet is a flawed argument because a lot of factors is not taken into consideration and many assumptions have been made without providing sufficient evidence for it.

Firstly, the assumption made is the nation Tagus has no other variety of food that can can help them combat the Vitamin A deficiency. There can be other food products as well which can be excellent sources for removing vitamin A deficiency and the people won't have to opt for expensive breed of engineered millet.

Secondly, no facts are provided based on which the people are being considered vitamin A deficit. It can be possible that in the whole nation only a particular state or region might be deficit. So promoting this new type of millet won't prove advantageous for the entire nation of Tagus. No evidence has been provided whether a survey has been conducted or not, and if conducted then for how many people(since we are talking based on the entire nation), what are the results of survey.

Consequently, the assumption made in the argument that in spite of the engineered millet being expensive people are going to adopt it seems unreasonable. A nation consists of different financial divisions of people from poor to rich and the government is assuming that the poor people are also going to buy this engineered millet. Also, no evidence is provided for how much subsidy will be paid to the farmers and will it be sufficient enough for them or not.

Subsequently, no evidence is provided on why the non-engineered millet can't be grown since millet is already a staple food in Tagus.

More evidence on why the Government has to promote this new type of expensive millet is needed, since non-engineered millet are less expensive and high source of vitamin A.

Therefore, I will like to conclude that more evidence is needed to throw light on the argument, since lack of evidence makes the argument flawed and unconvincing.