An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

I find myself disagreeing with the given argument here as I find some contradicting points in the given passages.

The passage says that the international development organization responded to the vitamin A deficiency among the people living in Tagus. Later part of the article says that millet is abundant in that area and also a staple food. If highly vitamin A enriched millet is already a stable food in Tagus, the people living in there shouldn't be suffering from vitamin A deficiency.

Since these "millet" is a stable food in Tagus, The organization didn't need to engineer a new breed of it. And it is also confusing why people of Tagus needed to adopt with the new variety of their food. Clearly, they don't need any new breed of millet which is costly.

In the argument, it says that the farmers will be paid subsidies to cultivate this newly engineered highly vitamin A enriched millet. But, it doesn't say the amount of the subsidies and also the amount of costly millet. The subsidies may not be enough for the poor farmer to cultivate them.

Since we realize that people of Tagus don't need any new breed of millet, it is confusing that there are vitamin A deficiency among them. Besides, the government of Tagus should understand that there is no need to promote new type of millet.

At last I would like to say that, there are some confusing points noticeable in the given passage. It is not clear how people have vitamin deficiency when vitamin enriched food is abundant there. It is also not clear why newly engineered millet is necessary for them. Why should the government promote new millet is also a mystery which cost more. The passage should have mentioned about the amount of the subsidies relative to the cost of new millet. For these reasons, I disagree with the argument.