An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

As described, an international development organization, in response to the combat of vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything to promote the new type of millet. The author describes that a new type of millet cost more but farmers will be paid subsidies. People of Tagus readily accept a new type of food because this type of food is already familiar in the Tagus. Before the recommendation author must answer the following questions.

Firstly, are subsidies enough to cover the high cost of a new kind of millet? It is possible that government subsidies are not fully cover the cost of the new kind of millet. Another possibility is that after giving a certain amount of subsidy, the price of millet will increase further. Then it is not possible for farmers to cover the high cost of millet seed. If either of these happens, the conclusion is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is the new kind of millet properly compensate for the deficiency of vitamin A? It may not be compensated for the whole demand for vitamin A.It may also be possible that the production of the new kind of millet will be not expected and thus create a deficiency of vitamin A.If the author considers such possibility then the recommendation does not hold water.

In conclusion, as the recommendation stands now, it is significantly flawed because it is based on some uncertain assumptions. The author should give more evidence to solve this stated discrepancy. If those are answered properly then it is possible to evaluate the recommendation.