An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

There are several assumptions that are very poorly made based on no particular veritable cause that can be treated as an ultimate worthy justification. First, the international development organization has innovated a new genetically engineered breed of millet that is high in Vitamin A, which are supposed to help the people in Tagus to fight deficiency in Vitamin A. But however, the assumption made that people will readily adapt to the new variety since other breeds of millet is already a staple food of Tagus, does not make proper sense. There is no verification that the newly biological invention an successfully be adopted by the people. There needs to be reliable experimental results proving that they are actually adaptive as a food source to the people and can effectively help them recover from the vitamin deficiency.

Additionally, the fact that these seeds cost more is not helpful for the situation, as it has already been noted that people in the nation are impoverished, implying that they do not have enough food and suffer from hunger. Since they are not strong enough, it is not likely that they will be able to work hard on the farming process of the new breed of millet seeds implantation. Although the recommendation claims that they will offer subsidies to the farmers for working, the load of work to produce sufficient number of vitamins will be huge since it requires a lot of the fields to be cultivated for farming them. There is the serious need of available lands to be used for cultivation, and we are not informed if Tagus has a flush of land to provide for farming.

Many might argue that these are issues that can be solved within a certain amount of provided time, only if the government is serious to take the matter of curing the deficiency of Vitamin A in the population and promotes activities on behalf of this matter more importantly than others at the moment. But I believe that the government should be more concerned with the fact that they need to fight poverty and remove famine from the nation, more importantly than anything else right now. Poverty, also indicates other national problems such as unemployment, inhospitable environments, lack of hygiene, children suffering from malnutrition etc. which are rather more important than the issue of Vitamin A deficiency.

I would like to conclude that the government should not take the assumptions presented in the assumption as seriously as it is implicated.