Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

While it may be true that if Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students-but the argument is not cogent enough and needs some valid explanations for the unwarranted assumptions it made.

Primarily, the argument made an unwarranted assumption that low-fat and low-calorie foods are unhealthy. While it may be true that low-fat and low-calorie foods are not so much tasty and usually do not attract children very much but it is possible that they may be good for the health of the school going children. Foods rich in fat and calorie, however, may be attractive and enjoyable but they cause serious harm to the body as the body become bulky and children who consume such kind of foods become overweight inspite of doing regular exercise. Apart from suffering diabetics and high blood pressure, the particular children will suffer many more chronic diseases because of the regular consumption of rich food containing high fat and calorie. Had the argument explained in detail that the company serves low-fat low-calorie food and such food are not healthy for the children only then we can accept the argument.

Secondly, if we assume for a while that low-fat and low-calorie foods are not healthy and harms children health there is no explicit evidence that the company is not selling foods rich in fat and calorie. It may happen that the particular child and his friend bought low-fat and low-calorie food but the company has a large variety of foods which are rich in fat and calorie. Had the argument placed sufficient evidence that all the foods which are supplied by the particular company are suffering from low-fat and low-calorie issue only then we can accept the argument. But even then the argument must prove it low-fat and low-calorie foods are unhealthy.

Thirdly, the argument unwarrantedly assumes that foods that are brought by children of their own are unhealthy. It may happen that those foods brought by children are much healthier then cafeteria food since homemade foods are the best one. Regular consumption of homemade foods are the best theory to maintain a healthy body and hence the argument is not valid.

The argument is not valid because it makes some unwarranted assumptions.