Last year PrepUp had record enrollment in their test prep courses, but yearly profits fell by nearly 30 percent. To the contrary, TopPreparation had comparable enrollment to the year be fore, with profits rising by approximately 20 percent. This discrepancy most likely results from the fact that PrepUp teaches only live, in-person classes, which require expensive rental spaces and teaching equipment. Although TopPreparation’s total enrollment remained unchanged, its online enrollment increased by 50 percent, and online classes have a much lower overhead. In order to address these issues of profitability in the coming year, PrepUp will begin offering online test prep courses.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether PrepUp’s plan for the coming year and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the plan.

PrepUp plans to introduce online test prep courses in the coming year, in an attempt to increase its profitability by bringing down operating costs. This is based on the expectation that compared to in-person classes, online courses will not require expensive rental spaces and teaching equipment. Further, this has been driven by the realization that while their profits declined despite record enrollment in the past year, a competitor's profit margin increased due to an increased in online enrollment while overall enrollment remained constant. To assess whether this plan, and the contention on which it is based, are reasonable, PrepUp must consider additional questions.

Most significantly, this argument has overlooked the infrastructure required to support online courses. How much will PrepUp need to invest in new infrastructure in order to provide virtual courses? If these courses will include lecture-style video lessons, it will require some teaching equipment as well as rental space. In addition, it will also require cameras, mics, sound systems, appropriate lighting, video editing, and high-speed broadband internet. If it includes fewer videos but other content, this may require an investment in production of content. Thus, it is important to measure the additional costs incurred to determine whether this plan will increase profitability.

On a related note, since TopPreparation's total enrollment remained the same, this means that enrollment for its in-person classes declined by 50%. However, PrepUp's plan doesn't consider how it can achieve a similar result. Therefore, its costs might be higher, including both the existing amount and the additional investment required.

Third, what kind of competition will PrepUp's virtual courses face? If there are several other established players, such as TopPreparation, who already command a significant portion of the market, a new entrant such as PrepUp may need to spend a significant amount of its resources on effective marketing. Similarly, its plan may then need to account for how PrepUp can ensure that the virtual courses it offers stand apart from existing ones. Not doing so may compromise the plan's chances of success, with no, or even a negative, impact on the company's profitability.

Finally, PrepUp must also consider pricing strategies. Is it possible that its profits might be boosted by increasing prices of existing courses instead of reinventing the wheel? Even if this isn't the case, by executing this plan, PrepUp would be offering both online and in-person courses. Both involve different types of costs. To maximize profits, PrepUp should develop pricing strategies for both courses that generate sufficient revenue to more than meet the costs.

Thus, while PrepUp's plan seems plausible, the evidence that has been provided doesn't entirely warrant this shift in product strategy. To ascertain whether this plan is in fact reasonable and will result in greater profits, it is important to answer additional questions such as the investment required to introduce the new courses, the competition in that product category, as well as company strategy.