As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The rapid development and diffusion of technology in the modern era has sparked debates on whether humans' growing reliance on technology could limit their capacity to think and problem-solve. among other areas. A oft-cited example is how our dependence on calculators has eroded our ability to carry out basic arithmetic calculations. At its extreme, however, this idea gives way to fears surrounding the rise of robots with advancements in artificial intelligence, among other areas. Nevertheless, this is a flawed idea that overlooks several facts.

First, technology development is itself driven by humans' ability to think creatively to solve complex problems. For instance, both the invention of the wheel during the ancient era and that of Uber in the present have aimed to enable easier transportation. Advancements in the field require skilled humans who can not only think for themselves but for humanity in order to invent the "next big thing."

Second, while not everyone may work in scientific or technical fields, most professionals use technological tools to enable greater productivity in the work place. For instance, financial traders use software to crunch astronomical amounts of data using complex mathematical functions. On the one hand, it is true that they, along with data analysts across other fields, rely on software programs to compute data. On the other hand, they perform a far more important function - to identify data that is relevant to the problem at hand and consider the best way to manipulate it.

Finally, at a far more general level, one may argue that the information age has transformed humans into passive consumers. The impact of fallacious "news" certainly suggests this. However, this is just one side of the story. While it is important to explore options to limit its harmful effects, access to information - from the headlines of the day to information about educational and professional opportunities coupled with access to digital repositories of academic studies - has also empowered humans to make more informed decisions.

In conclusion, while it presents certain challenges, technology fundamentally empowers humans to better think for themselves. It is true that we increasingly depend on devices to help us perform basic tasks, from mathematical calculations to looking up facts, this has freed our minds to instead focus on higher-order tasks.