Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A government with a laissez faire attitude will not necessarily help small businesses thrive. While it is reasonable to expect minimal interference in private business decisions by the government, small businesses need governmental support and appropriate regulatory oversight to ensure an even playing field.

An overbearing state that exerts control over the factors of production or intervenes in private business decisions for nefarious reasons certainly impedes progress in the private sector. The emergence of highly individualistic liberal philosophies at the onset of the industrial revolution was driven by the need to carve out a space for businesses to operate freely. It bears mentioning that back then there was a conflict of interest between the feudal state and private business interests.

However, the modern era is marked by the dominance of large corporations. For instance, in the current "internet age" data is widely considered to be the new oil. Most of the world's data is under the control of four giant corporations, namely Facebook, Google, Amazon, and Microsoft. These technological giants have extended their control through acquisitions of smaller companies in the field, among several other strategies. A widely known example is Facebook's acquisition of both Whatsapp and Instagram. Even if they cannot acquire smaller firms, given their vast resources, large corporations can easily compete with the former. For instance, consider Facebook's introduction of a feature whereby users can upload "stories" that last for 24 hours across all its platforms, a feature that was responsible for the popularity of its rival Snapchat.

Notably, this sector has now become the focus of governments across the world as they seek to grapple with the consequences of these oligopolistic structures, alongside other challenges, to regulate data. Thus, in both the data economy and other sectors, small businesses require support from governments in the form of anti-trust and competition laws coupled easier access to finance and expertise. For instance, the Indian government has identified the development of start-ups as a policy priority. Hence, not only has it sought to institute laws that limit the possibility of large corporations simply buying off competition, but it has also established several incubators and accelerators that empower small businesses by providing access to resources, both financial and technical, that they need to succeed.

In conclusion, without state support, the private sector would be a Hobbesian world where might is right. While it is important to prevent governments from misusing their influence to push forward parochial interests, this does not preclude the possibility of their playing a positive role.