If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While education equips us with significant technical skills along with the domain knowledge required to succeed in our chosen fields of work, experience is often the greatest teacher. However, this experience may also limit our enthusiasm as well as creativity. I somewhat agree that, if all other aspects of applicants' profiles are at par with each other, those with greater experience make for better candidates.

Organizations benefit from the experience that employees bring to the table. First, experienced candidates will need far less training, guidance, and hand-holding when they take on a new role in the organization since they can draw on their past exposure to the field or to professional environments in general. On the other hand, those with lesser experience will face a much steeper learning curve that will, both, draw on the resources of the organization and possibly compromise initial productivity.

Nevertheless, candidates with limited experience bring other benefits to the table. First, as one starts off in a new field, they are likely to appreciate opportunities that come their way far more than others might. Betting on a smart candidate, who may be new to the field, is likely to result in their working hard to cross the learning curve and add value to the organization. After all, they would feel the need to prove that they are the right person for the job, both to the employer and to themselves. In contrast, the confidence that comes with several years of experience could just as easily transform into complaesence. Thereby, it is important to consider candidates' determination and drive to succeed in the new role, apart from their qualifications and experience.

Further, while several years worth of professional experience in a particular field helps one build extensive expertise, it also closes one's mind off to new possibilities. If the role, for which the organization plans to hire someone, requires creativity or if the organization itself plans to transition to a new mode of working or new sectors, the ablity to problem-solve and even undertake creative-destruction is all the more important. To be able to do this, experienced candidates should ideally have worked successfully in diverse roles across various industries. If not, a candidate with lesser experience might be able to approach the role with comparatively fresh eyes. Indeed, it is plausible that some people may be inherently more creative than others but it is challenging to authoritatively gauge this through the traditional application process that involves submitting your curriculum vitae with supporting documents, followed by an interview or two. Application processes that include a task that needs to be completed may be able to better assess this but diverse experience will speak for itself.

In conclusion, while it is largely true that hiring experienced candidates is a smart decision, this comes with important caveats. It is just as important to consider, both, the candidates' determination to succeed in a new role and their ability to think creatively. For this, the quality of experience, not just length, is important.