Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that decline in sea ice levels due to global warming has interrupted the Arctic deer's migration pattern, thereby decreasing their population. While this is plausible at first glance, further examination indicates that is not backed by sufficient evidence to establish that this correlation does in fact indicate causation.

While recent reports may indicate that sea ice has melted as a result of warmer temperatures globally, regional variations are possible. Therefore, it would be important to measure changes in sea ice levels in the Arctic deer's traditional habitat to ascertain whether this has indeed threatened its population. If there hasn't been a significant change in sea ice levels around these islands in Canada's arctic regions, it is possible that other factors may affect the deer's population.

First, it is possible that climate change may have impacted the vegetation on these islands, thereby affecting the availability of food for the animal. This change in vegetation could also be driven by humans introducing new species, whether deliberately or accidentally. If this new species requires significant levels of nutrition from the soil and is hardy enough to out-compete the plants that the deer traditionally feed on, this would negatively impact the native vegetaiton. Further, this new species may not be suitable for consumption by the deer since it may not contain the right balance of nutrients or, worse, it may be harmful. Therefore, apart from sea ice levels, the author should examine whether the region's vegetation has experienced any changes.

Second, local hunters may themselves be responsible for the decline in the species' population. The author does not state whether the hunters follow sustainable and ethical hunting practises and also does not examine if there has been a change in the population of the hunters in the region. For instance, if there has been an increase in the number of hunters, it would follow that a greater number of deer have been killed by the hunters.

Finally, the author needs to provide further evidence regarding the timeline for the change in the deer's population. Has the decline in population coincided with the onset of the global warming? If this predates the latter, even if sea ice in the region has started melting recently, it would not explain why the deer population has been declining.

In conclusion, to assess whether a causal relationship between the metling of sea ice and the decline in the Arctic deer's population exists, it is important to consider additional factors. These include the chronology of these events, the impact of humans on the deer's population levels, and actual changes in sea ice levels and vegetation in the animal's habitat.