"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The author concludes investing in Consolidated Industries especially home heating oil based on using oil as a major fuel in northeastern United States. The author supports his statement by evidences of prediction, expressing that this weather pattern will continue and new building in this area is going to increase. At first glance these assumptions seem to be strong enough to persuade us to accept his thought, but when we start to revise the argument deeply we can find some flaws and hidden problems in his assumptions.

To begin with, there is no evidence that prove people in that area use oil as a main fuel for heating in the last season. It is true that they have used oil traditionally but we should consider that maybe, people living in this region tried to replace oil with new type of energy such as gas, light, etc. Surely, understanding the measure of oil, used in last season concern strongly with argument conclusion also we should consider changing sources of energy leads to decrease depending of oil and it makes difficulty in the investment, therefore there is no reason to investment in Consolidated Industries.

Furthermore, there is a problem in not discussing type of energy in new houses. The passage asserts that many new houses are being built in the region, in addition next year is going to be very cold too, therefore invest in oil is going to be good suggestion, but if we want to take look at the argument precise, we can’t find anything about the type of energy, used in these homes. If architectures, building these homes try to replace oil with other type of energy like electricity, the prediction of demanding oil has faced serious problems. To provide more support, the author should mention the sources of energy using in these new houses because it wouldn’t feasible for us to invest in business which isn’t going to use in new housing any more.

Last but not least, the investment advice is chosen based on prediction of climate forecaster, which isn’t enough strong to strength the suggestion. Let us judge this suggestion from another point of view, what happen if the climate forecasters make mistake in their prediction which is expressing, weather pattern will continue for several years. Under such a circumstance, since, no one in that area needs oil for heating home, we have to prepare to bankrupt in the investment. Without shadow of doubt, investing is a risky job and investor can’t put money in a business according to suggestion which dramatically unpredictable.

In conclusion, the author proposal to investment in Consolidate Industries especially home heating oil is unconvincing. Because, he didn’t mention the demanding of oil in last year and the kind of energy using in new building in intended area. Furthermore, mistake in predicting weather is inevitable, as isn’t good reason to compel us to accept the suggestion.