Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

The assumptions of the authors are written in the memo about Nature’s Way; a chain of store health food will be very successful in Plainsville sounds illogically convince with several reasons. The author ignores important information and some question needed to be answered in order to decide the recommendation is likely to have predicted results.

First, the author provides no assurance that the merchants report which the argument depends is statistically reliable. The report does not mention the number of people, who purchase shoes, their gender, and their age. Perhaps the survey’s respondents are not representative of the overall population of people who live in this city. In addition, it is possible the number of reports was too low to ensure that most people like to buy shoes during a year.

Second, base on the fact the local health club has more members than before; the author infers that people pay more attention on their health. However, it is not necessarily the case. People may go to the health club for meeting their friends not doing physical activities. Moreover, if we accept they go to the club for exercise, there is no evidence to show people like to use health foods. In fact, it is possible the city has not any recreation facilities and people have to fill their spare time with going to these clubs. Since the author ignores this possibility, the recommendation can not be acceptable.

Third, the author relies that the assumption that the new generation of schoolchildren are required to take part in a fitness-for-life program, so they like to be customers of health foods. Although, the common sense informs me that this relationship is exists, the author must provide clear evidence of this relationships. Furthermore, it is entirely possible next generations do not tend to participate in this program as well as use health foods. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that the stores will have more customers in this city.

In sum, the argument is rationally flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must more clear evidence that merchants’ reports reflect the general population. In order to evaluate the recommendation, we need to know about all possible factors, which lead people to go to the health clubs.