Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that Nature's way tends to be successful in areas where residents lead healthy lives and Plainville is one such town. he advocates this argument by mentioning reports of sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at an all-time high and local health clubs has more member than ever. Although the argument at first instance sounds pursuing a little meticulous look however reveals its flaws.

Firstly, the author's assumption that just because sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are high implies people of the town are healthy is completely unwarranted. he hasn't provided any report or evidence to show whether the bought items are actually used for such activities. it could be possible that citizens of Plainville are buying it for it's comfort and style. In such case, the author's argument weakens significantly.

Furthermore, local health club having more members don't speak for an entire population. The author hasn't provided any numeric data to show how many members have joined the health club compared to the town's entire population. he hasn't provided any numeric data about how many people the weight room and aerobic classes can hold. As it is possible that the capacity of such classes is very low, then filling such classes might be very easy.

Moreover, the author's assumption that schoolchildren represent the next generation of customers is unconvincing as it is possible that those students might be a member of those weight training and aerobics classes. In that case, they will not join Nature's way.

In conclusion, the author's argument that Nature's way will be successful in Plainville is flimsy and unwarranted. The author needs to provide authentic statistical data about the aforementioned points to make his argument more convincing. however, as it stands the argument is flawed.