"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The writer of above argument has drawn the conclusion that by prohibiting skateboarding in central plaza, business will increase like before. This conclusion is drawn on the basis of disjointed and incomplete data. The argument suffers from several critical flaws as discussed below.

Firstly, without any statistics the writer has assumed a correlation between decreasing shoppers and increasing skateboarding. There can be several other factors that caused the popularity of central plaza to decrease. For example, factors like opening of other plazas, increase in prizes at central plaza, closing down of certain shops at central plaza etc. could play a role in decreasing popularity of central plaza.

Secondly, the writer highlights a dramatic increase in litter and vandalism but provides no details on who is causing it. There is a high chance that the shop owners or some of the shoppers could be causing it leaving skateboarders free from blame. And due to the unsanitation of the place, most shoppers have stopped coming to central plaza.

Thirdly, the author has unfairly assumed that because of increasing popularity of skateboarding in the city, number of skateboard users in the plaza has also substantially increased. Also, assuming that skateboarders at the plaza have increased: there is a fair chance that more shoppers would visit to see skateboarders and prohibiting skateboarding might lead shoppers to go away.

In general, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of statistical data. Other factors that may cause a decline in shoppers like development of other plazas, price increase at plaza have to be ruled out first. A more detailed study on who is causing litter at the plaza would help strengthen the argument. In short, there are many questions that must be addressed because they are crucial to draw any conclusion.