Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

First of all, there is no relation between central plaza and skateboarding. Skateboarding is mainly built up an open place because it needs a vast open area for skating. On the other hand, we can easily understand that central plaza is not placed in vacant land rather in a building. There have many shops, bars, hotel facilities, food corner and others. It might be true that there also have many recreational facilities. Most of them are indoors like swimming, indoor game facilities and others. Sometimes they provide some outdoor recreations which are required and completed in small place like outdoor swimming pool etc.

Most importantly, given facilities by central plaza and skateboarding is a totally different issue. For example, one man can like skating but it is not affecting him to go to bars, shops, swimming, hotels, store etc. if he wants. All are important and necessary for human’s life. So, it’s really a valueless complaint. If any central plaza is provided skateboarding facilities, then I think it’s a great opportunity to sell other related products. Then why will be decreasing central plaza’s business for the popularity of the skateboarding?

Another focusing point is increased litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. It’s a normal thought that if the movements of people are decreasing somewhere, this place might have been clean. So, the store owner’s opinion is not true logically. Litter and vandalism is depending on the density of population in a particular place. On the other hand, if they said skating area is not cleaned, that would be trustworthy.

It is true that central plaza business is decreasing day by day while skateboarding popularity is increased. But there is no logical evidence that for skateboarding, central plaza business goes downward. If they want to back their position, I think it’s mandatory to study that actually for what reason, shop owners couldn’t capture the public attention. They should have a clear cut concept on it and should take action on the basis of their lacking’s. They might change their business strategy if necessary.