"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that skateboarding is the issue because of which the central plaza is losing business and people are losing interest in these shops. This argument does not provide any specific evidence to make point cogent. There are several issues with the argument. Also questions should be asked about the central plaza, as these shops were out of business for over two years.

Firstly, The author claims that because of skateboarding business has reduced that means there would have been at least, a few unfortunate cases created by the skateboarder and after only the popularity of the Central Plaza has declined. Author fails to point out any such cases or count of such cases that could illustrate his reason more efficiently. In addition to this, This scenario might be the exact opposite, as people started losing interest in Central Plaza, skateboarders were attracted to this as, it was mostly less crowded.

Secondly, As the author states that over past two years the Central Plaza is less in demand, that indicates there must be some other means by which people of the society are fulfilling there needs. For example, there are might be some new malls or new shopping complex which provide service to the public and help in fulfill their daily needs. This might be one more reason that could raise question on the argument, is the central plaza is capable enough to bring back into business even if the skateboarder's are banned?. The argument fails to consider this possibility, that could challenge the prediction made by the argument.

Lastly, As the author claims, there are increased amount of litter and vandalism through out the plaza, this might be one more reason why individuals are looking for other malls or shopping complex for their needs. as a result there is decreased business in the Central plaza. In order to make the prediction of high business more convincing the author should also include any prospective idea or proposal for fixing the place to attract more people and get high business.

In sum, even though it is understandable that skateboarder might create some issue for the shopper, it is not correct to blame the whole thing on them. There might possibility of competition in the market that could have decreased the popularity of the Central Plaza. The author should include such possibilities before predicting or hoping the high business in the central plaza.