Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the note from the the business manager to the television station, the writer suggest that they should reschedual the the weather forecast and local news telecast on the basis of the received complaints from the customer and the cancellation of advertising contract. The writer is mainly concerned with the timing of weather forecast in the late night program.

To start with, the manager is mainly concern about the timing of the weather forecast and for that he denotes that there are main complaints received from the customers. There is a possibility that the customers are mainly concerned with the weather news because there is bad weather condition in their particular are or it is season of monsoon. That should be the reason behind the increasing complaints from the customers. Also, customer base of news company shold be nationalized and their are many few are local viewers. The local viewers are mainly needed the local news, that why they complaint. From this we can't justify to increase the timing for the local news and weather news in the late night.

Next, From the cancellation of advertising contract it doesn't define that they are decreasing customers. The termination of the contract has many reasons to be proven. It can't be relate to the weather forecast and local news. The advertising company have canceled the contract because their are very few people who watch tv in night and that doesn't affect to their company's sale progress.Furthermore,the news company is charging higher amount for the news telecast that should be the reason behind the sudden cancellation of advertising

Also, the news company have a lager base of national viewers and international viewers so it's more benefitual for them to earn more bread and butter. And they earning much more bigger amount from this in compare to revenue from the advertise and the local news. The manager should got only the regional complains from the local viewers, that doesn't define that the need of which news should be telecast.

To conclude, I would say that the manager should take a market survey on the customer's demands and needs. It will more clarify the suitable timings for the local news and national news. The manager should find a valid and authentic reason behind the termination of the advertising contract, rather than relating it to the local news and reducing customers.