Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

the author of this argument contends that because of some changes in their late night news program the viewer become unstatisfied and complain more than before. To support the author mentions that the local business owner cancealed their advertisement. Therefore, the author recommends that they have to allocate more time to weather and local news like before to attract viewers and dvertisment. I find this recommendation logically unconvincing because it rests on some permises to support of which there is not sufficient evidence.

The first problem of this arguments is that the author unfairly refers to the complains that received from viewers, however, the author does not indicate how many people sent complaints. As you know, in the research the greater the number of participants the valid and reliable findings are. Therefore, it is entirely possible that the number of complaints that the TV received was not significant. In addition, the author have to provide firm and sufficient evidence to prove that the number of people who complained about this specific situation is significant and totally how many people sent review to the TV station. Furthermore, in the research the findings can be generalized to the concern population and representative of the sample society on terms of the age, gender, social calsses and culture, however, the author does not prvide firm and sufficient evidence that the people who complains are in the same age or are they have the same social classes. It is entirelly possible that the people who sent the complaints are mostly woman who listen to the news in the day more than men and they do not like these changes. Or maybe because the number of women viewer in more that men viewer they donot enjoy the advertise that related to the products such as car and men producs.

Hence, to strengthen the recommendation the author have to consider these possibilities and prepare more evidence to prove his point.

The second problem of this recommendation is that the author illogically assumes that there is a corralation between the number of cancealed advertisments and the changes in their program. The corraltion alone amounts to scant o evidence to claimed cause and effect relationship. Maybe the local business owners decide to cancel their advertisements for other reasons that are absent in these particular situation. It is entirely possible that the price of advertisements in the late night news increase suddenly and the business owner decided to cancel their advertisement. Or perhaps, they the most of the advertisement are about the children toy and products and because this program does not have a large number of children viewer, they have to cancel their advertisement. Hence, without ruling out these possibilities the author cannot convince me that these two factors have correlation with each other.

Finally, the author unfairly assumes that anything changes with passing a time. The author overlooks the fact the thing might change over the past year. It is entirely possible that other late night shows become compatitor of this late night news.

To sum, To strengthen, the author have to provide more sufficient and firm evidence to prove that devoting more time to coverage the local and weather news can improve their revenue.