For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. ln addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The conclusion made by the business manager of a listener supported public radio station are highly unpragmatic as well as imbecile.It is rifed with holes and assumptions ,thus not so robust enough make a such a recommendation.There are myriad exploration as well as multiple areas which are need to be highlighted to make the claims .

For instance being a listener supported public radio,the region where it is forecasting its music and shows is not illustrated .The kind of racial,ethnic ratio of the region is left unknown and leads to question that whether all the listeners are felt that the sudden exponential drift from folk to latino and world music was considered as "un-American " lead to the way of being bias.There are no surveys or charts or any kind of educational reports presented stating that all supporters were against the change in the program..The local newspaper which made a critical editorial on the drastic changes are not the reasons which can cause to make such drastic changes in the public radio station which would eventually mean that it would lose its extended supporter base which was the whole aim.

Instead of going back to the standard of playing only traditional American folk music ,the more pragmatic solution would have been to give equal amount of time to all genre that way it would have been a win-win situation.There are baseless assumptions made thinking playing the traditional American folk music would mean to be that its unbiased ,which is rather the other way round.

In nutshell,it is highly filled with error and retains poor evidence and support in the claims.There are no before and after real evaluations as well there are many questions left unanswered,Therefore it is really not wise enough to casually assume or come down to conclusion without thorough evidence.