A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

In the argument stated by the author it is mentioned that the value of the pet food is nearly 4 million pounds which is obviously a big reason to concern. One can think that if the market investment of a company is such a huge amount then what about the reputation of the organisation. Definitely its not so easy to create a market in a competitive environment where there are verities of ways to make money and verities of companies to make money.

Its a quite common thing to understand that pet food industry is not at all a monopoly of a single business giant. It does not matter how powerful the juggernaut is, what matters is the good will created with a constant effort of so many years. Its quite easy to demote the business trend by just a small leak.

The news of illness of pets by the use of products of the company is sufficient to create a misconception in the mind of normal public. This may results into deep slashes in the stake value. It is quite difficult to create a new market. But to create a good trend of customer is more harder than it.

The statement in the passage mentioning about authentic use of chemicals allowed by the sanctioning authority proves that its not a matter of faulty production. Its may be a rumor created by a rivalry competitor to decrease the sell. Though there is no certain evidence against it but from the observations in recent past we may not ignore it. Whether it is the case of banning Haldiram, a popular brand among the lovers of sweets in US or it may be the case of Maggi, a noodles brand by Nestle, it is the social and baseless rumor that created a deep fall in the revenue of these globally reckoned organisations.

Keeping in mind these situations and taking a lessons from them it is quite mandatory to rethink against the decision of the company not to proceed the investigation.