A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument is based on many assumptions that lead it to possible flaws. On the broader side, the company assumes the conditions of company environment and the environment where pets eat that food to be same and of the same quality that company dispatches towards the consumers.

The argument is based on assumption that the approval of chemical found in food is valid. There might be the case that those chemicals are just approved to be used for pets that are completely different from the pets that the company is manufacturing products for. Or even it might be the case that the approval of those chemical is somewhere flawed. Therefore, it is a great need for company to verify the validity of approval before finalizing the investigation.

Considering the fact that the chemical approval is valid but in what quantity those chemicals should be used. If we look on the human side, his/her body mass index plays an important role when suggesting them food better for their health. Consequently, the company might be using the chemicals in quantity that is not recommended for intake of the pets and thus resulting in illness.

The environment where certain foods are consumed plays an important role for consumption of those foods. This can be justified by that fact that food consumed in western countries is much different from that of eastern countries because of the fact that temperature in western countries is normally colder than that of eastern countries. Similarly, if we consider the pet food manufactured by the company, it might be possible that the environment where food is prepared and the environment where it is consumed are much different. When food is recalled by the company, it again tests that food again in environment where it was prepared, not in the areas where it is consumed and thus leading to results with possible flaws. Therefore, ideal investigation should be done in proper conditions from where the complaints are received.

Considering the situation that all of the in-house investigation proves to be valid and justifies the company not responsible for illness of pets. Another side that remains unanswered is the food delivery mechanism by the company. It might be possible that the mechanism is too slow that the food reaches to the consumers after its expiry or not of the quality that is prepared in company.

Therefore, it can be concluded that company should complete its investigation once it addresses both the in-house and out-house circumstances before justifying itself to be not responsible for illness of pets.