A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that the new Captain Seafood restaurant will be quite popular and profitable. However, the author supports his conclusion with three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically weekend the argument.

First of all, will the increase of seafood consumption in the Bay City restaurants be the same as it did in the past five years? The author presumes the rise in seafood consumption in the Bay City restaurants will be the same as in the past five years. The author fails to provide any evidence the consumption of seafood will remaining the same or will increase. But it is possible that the consumption of seafood in the following years can be declining. If it is true, the argument does not hold water.

Second of all, does the nationwide survey represent every Two-income family in Bay City? The author of the argument fails to provide any justifications about the nationwide study. The author assumes that the two-income family in the bay city eats seafood significantly in the restaurant. There is a potential that the two-income family does not like seafood at all. There is also another potential for the two-income family in the Bay City to stay home rather than go to restaurants to eat. If either of these is true, the conclusion is drawn in the argument significantly weekend.

Finally, the recommendation also leaves many other unanswered questions. Will the specialized Seafood restaurant, the new Captain Seafood restaurant can provide healthy food? The author mentions Bay city people's concern about healthful eating but fails to justify the new restaurant will provide healthy food. The author also assumes that people of the bay city will abandon the current restaurant and start eating in the new Captain restaurant. There is no systematic study that presents the justification of these assumptions. If any of these are true, the argument that the new Captain Seafood restaurant will be quite popular and profitable is not overly persuasive.

In conclusion, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its relation to several unwarranted assumptions; if the author can provide the answer to the three questions above and provide more evidence (perhaps a systematic research study), then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the argument entirely.