A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The originator of the argument asserts that a recent study has proven the fact that the order of birth affects individual's level of stimulation. This conclusion is buttressed by several evidences which should be carefully scrutinized in order to gauge the soundness of the conclusion.

First of all, we are told that a recent study with rhesus monkey has proven that the order of birth impacts on level of cortisol. The first born monkey has twice as high level of the hormone as its younger siblings. As we know usually rhesus monkey give a birth to one creature at once, therefore, siblings should have a significant differnce in their ages. Perhaps this kind of monkey brings new offspring once in year. Consequently, the first born animal may be fully formed in the contrast with its immature siblings. Thus, the high level of cortisol may be explained by the age difference between siblings.

The second given evidence avers that humans, who were born at the first turn, have higher level of cortisol as well. The rhesus monkey and human beings are relatively close to each other and therefore, the age difference may play its role in this case as well. Moreover, we are social animals and probably the first born child has a spcial relationships with parents. For example, a first born child may feel shortage of parent's attention due to the fact that mother and father have to distribute their attention on all children. It is the well-known fact that first born children get used to be loved by parents but when siblings appears, parents attention is focus on their younger brothers and sisters, consequently, the first born child may react on a parent with higher emotional response to attract parent's attention.

The last evidence which is given to us is that first-time mother monkey has higher level of the hormone. The author assumes that it may cause the higher level of cortisol of the first born monkey. At the same time, a monkey which is going to be a mother undergoes a dramatic body changes, the reproductive system prepares to give a birth, some organs which have never been used before by the future mother become active, for example, the monkey breasts are started to emit milk. Additionally to it, we have no data which supports author's assumption that the stress of mother may impact on the child.

In conclusion, the originator of the argument maintains that the influence on the order of birth on levels of stimulation has been proven. Unfortunately, the given evidences may be explained alternatively and thus the argument is weakened.