A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument is based upon a recent study which indicates that the children living in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States. There author says that there are more number of dental care in United States with an average of 1.25 time per year as compared to Himalayan mountain region in Nepal.

Firstly, the author is trying to say that despite of the shortage of dentist in Himalayan mountains, children living there have lower tooth decay whereas in United States, there are many dentist but still children in United States suffer from tooth decay problems. But this fact does not prove that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. There are many factors that contribute in tooth decay problems such as lifestyle, diet, how we take care of our teeth by keeping them clean every time. Healthy habits are also very important in lowering the tooth decay problems. For example, in United States, children eat junk food, consume carbonated drinks at a very high level and after having such diet then don't bother to brush twice a day and opt healthy tooth habits then even after a point of time, the dentist is helpless in solving the tooth decay issues.

Secondly, if children do not brush properly or do not take proper care of their teeth then it is even difficult for a dentist to cure their problems. The author should have mentioned more convincing points to state that regular dental care is not helpful. It can be possible that children living in Himalayan mountains might have a better diet and lifestyle with healthy habits than the children living in United States.

However, the argument does not stand strong on the thoughts mentioned by the author. The author should come up with more reasons and facts to prove that regular dental is not helpful in preventing tooth decay problems. There In the end we can say that the argument needs detailed study of many more factors.