A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument here is based on a study that juxtaposes dental issues of children residing in Himalayan mountain regions of Nepal and that of children in suburbs of the US. While the evidence presented is not to be doubted here but rather the hypothesis drawn is of dubious authenticity which lacks sufficient data to bolster it. The contrast in the issue of tooth decay among United States children and that of children in Nepal seems to be lacking a causation: the cause of tooth decay might not be evident or even present in Nepal.

The alternative explanation of the statistics can be derived as: relying only on regular dental care by visiting dentists will not suffice the problem of tooth decay - rather preventive measures should be embellished for successfully eradicating tooth decay problems. As the children are residing in the mountain regions, they might be exposed to substance or food items that can cause serious tooth decay issues. Rather these substance are more evident in suburbs and more popular among the children in suburbs. As the suburbs of the US have enormous amounts of food chain stores and candy store and other such store which lure these children in consuming excess amount of such products, eventually causing dental issues. Therefore, even after regular dental care and doctor's visits, the problem is flourishing.

On the contrary, the children in Nepal, having not being exposed to such products in abundance and thus them relying on natural care of their teeth would support the alternative explanation. As the they are using more natural and organic products for their dental problems, they might be able to prevent the damage in a better fashion. The regular use of organic products to clean their teeth prevents them from visiting dentists as frequently as children in the US.

While the facts and study presented in the argument is of a major interest along with a concern of the parents and citizens of United States, the conclusion derived by the author seems to be demanding more evidence to prove true. The alternative presented in the essay is rather more convincing and agreeable considering only the facts in from the study.