A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this passage, the author recommends to form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter for an adopt-a-dog program and predicts its program and related further publicity could further improve people's general healthy status. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, the author's reasoning of the argument is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's viewpoint.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the assumption that feeding pets could inevitably improve pet owners' overall healthy status. Based on the assumption the author therefore extrapolate that dog owners would have a lower incidence of heart disease. However, such assumption is potentially problematic because coincidence between feeding pets and longer, healthier life mightn't have well causal relationship. Nor do we know whether such report is distorted for the real situation of people's healthy status. Moreover, we have no idea about the lower incidence of heart disease of dog owners are caused by other factors, such as their regular or wholesome life habit. If it turns out that feeding pet can't necessarily lead to better healthy status of pet owners, or such report is just concocted for advertising to raise pets, or even dog owners are those having more regular exercises to keep health, the author's conclusion of good effect of adopting with pet in term of good health is untenable.

Furthermore, by stating that a nrew program of adapt-a-dog could help patients' recovery from heart disease and use less treatment, the author rules out alternatives which could rival with the one alleged in the argument. However, we need to re-examine the assumption that such partnership of keep dog could help patients improve their status of heart disease. It is likely that those patients in Sherwood Hospital might have other complications of heart disease, so that they can't allow to live with dogs, because the shed furs of dogs could exacerbate their disease. Also, it is of equal probability that the anticipated reduced treatment can't be put into practice, because such termination could endanger their life and they are really on the verge of death. If any of the aforementioned assumptions prove warranted, we are inclined to believe that such program could induce such wholesome result as mentioned by the author for partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter.

Last but not least, while all of the assumptions mentioned above prove warranted, the author's recommendation is still unnecessary due to the doubtful assumption regarding the efficiency of publicity of the aforementioned partnership. Claiming that more advertisement of results of this program, the author seems too optimistic. It is unreasonable to assume that most of people in the district are likely to be impacted by the publicity, since they might be interested about other media sources, instead of news about health. Also, the author hastily comes to the conclusion that more people could be allured to adopt pets for the shelter, but does not discuss whether people could fully trust the rectitude of such publicity without any doubt. Moreover, we can't even predict that their heart disease could be ameliorated, once they follow with suggestion to adopt pet from the shelter. If the public just ignore such publicity, or people keep suspicious about the truth of such advertisement, or majority of people have chronic heart disease and can't be improved any more, then so-called further estimated benefits are more likely to go in vain.

In summary, whether we should implement the author's recommendation heavily depends on the validity of the aforementioned assumptions. If those assumptions prove unwarranted, the author's recommendation could become little more than his/her wishful thinking and therefore we should consider other choices to improve overall healthy status for the public.