A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more

chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of

Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans

eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called isoflavones, which have

been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider

eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

In the study, the author has stated that the populations on the continents of North America suffered more from chronic fatigue and chronic depression as compared to the population on the continent of Asia. The argument cites that disease preventing compound isoflavone- mitigates these problems in the people of Asia. The author has reached to the conclusion based on the fact that North Americans should eat soy on the regular basis to prevent from such types of defects. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are the climatic and other environmental factors of the Asia and North America comparable? It is possible that these parameters were difference in both of these continents- Perhaps, North America have the lower temperature and the physical and mental condition varied upon two geographical location. Futher, the people of North America may take a greater stress while working in the office or any fields. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that problems of depression and fatigue was caused by the lack of phytochemicals isoflavone. The author in this argument prematurely assumes that eating of soy by the people of North America can reduces these problems. The author has not given any evidences about the food habits of the people of North America. Also, there is not any evidences that these problems were occurred by the deficiency of isothiocyanates. However, the people of North America might eat the carrot which contains the same chemical compounds ‘isothiocyanates’.

Thirdly, the author assumes that fatigue and depression are only the symptoms of deficiency of isothiocyanates. Perhaps, it may be the reasons of several factors viz; diet, environmental factors, genetic or hereditary factors. Without observing of different external indicators for the precursor of disease, the argument conclusion of eating soy is indefensible.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumption. If the author is able to answers the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps, in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation to eat soy on the regular basis in order to mitigate the illness.