A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked with depression, and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The study suggest that people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online, building on the implication that spending too much time online is linked to depression. While this statement seems plausible, the survey which this statement build on is erratic, and to be more reliable it should answer some critical questions.

First, the author posed that the survey include 250 adults between 30 an d 45. What was the sample selecting criteria? What are the mental and medical history of these adults? Did they experience depression before spending time online?. Most importantly, what are their lives condition such as; financial status, family, social life?. All these questions, if they are answered efficiently, will strengthen and validate the survey sample, and prove it to be representative.

Second, the author stated that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report frequent concentrating troubles. While these results may seems critical, but the author failed to submit more empirical data to prove his results. Many questions would need to be answered to decide the validity of the data such as; how many adults who participated in this survey spend 30 hours or more weekly? What are the survey method? were the adults asked to answer questions or just report troubles?. Survey methods is vital to decide the liability of the survey. For example, adults might be persuaded to give specific answers, or might be misguided with vague questions.

Furthermore, the percentage of 20% of these adults might not be representative, the author gave an fallacious conclusion without giving a clear empirical data. For instant, if 50 people reported having frequent trouble, it is 10 persons who reported that they have felt down and blue. Most important, was there any surrounding conditions which might led them to feel sad?. The author may use the answer to these questions to build more cogent case.

In conclusion, while this argument is rife with wholes and presumptions, more researches should be carried out in order to analyze the effects of spending too much time online on our health.